RSS

Healthier but still tasty burritos at Campbell’s Aqui Cal-Mex

17 Dec
The Pork Carnitas Burrito at Aqui Cal-Mex in Campbell.

The Pork Carnitas Burrito at Aqui Cal-Mex in Campbell.

If it wasn’t for my ongoing weight-loss efforts, I would probably eat burritos every day. Anything that includes a tortilla, meat and cheese satisfies my belly. So I was happy when a new acquaintance invited me to a late lunch at Aqui Cal-Mex, which she says is a popular hangout in downtown Campbell.

Dish of Choice

I ordered the pork carnitas burrito, which was made with shredded pork, green rice, pinto beans, salsa and jack and cheddar cheese in a whole-wheat tortilla. The burrito came with a side of chips and slaw, and I ordered a fountain drink. My meal cost about $11.

The Taste

The pork, rice and beans were nice and tender. I usually don’t like whole-wheat tortillas because they tend to be dry and grainy, but this was not the case here. I do wish the burrito had more cheese, but that’s only because I am a big cheese fiend. I liked the fact that I didn’t feel like I had a brick in my gut after eating the burrito, like I often do at other places. I thought serving slaw with a burrito was a bit odd, but it worked at Aqui. The slaw wasn’t too creamy or sweet, so it worked well with the rest of the dish.

The Ambiance

Aqui Cal-Tex has a contemporary and casual feel. You order and pick up your meal from the counter, and there is plenty of seating in the large dining area. There is also a separate bar room for those who want to enjoy a cocktail or two.

Other Details

Aqui Cal-Tex is located at 201 E. Campbell Ave. in Campbell and has three other locations in the Bay area: 10630 S. De Anza Boulevard in Cupertino; 5679 Snell Ave. in San Jose; and 1145 Lincoln Ave. in downtown Willow Glen. The restaurant has daily entree and roll-up specials as well as Sunday brunch. For more information, visit www.aquicalmex.com.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2014 in Cal-Mex, Mexican

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
