RSS

Great breakfast burrito without the grease at Denica’s Real Food Kitchen in Walnut Creek

22 Dec
The Original Burrito at Denica's Real Food Kitchen in Walnut Creek.

The Original Burrito at Denica’s Real Food Kitchen in Walnut Creek.

I can’t think of anyone I know who has ever said, “I don’t really like brunch.” Everybody likes brunch.

I was visiting a friend in Walnut Creek, and I wanted to find a place that had a great brunch menu. After a quick online search, I came across Denica’s Real Food Kitchen. Any place that offers unique items such as cookie dough waffles and Almond Joy pancakes is a place I have to try.

Dish of Choice

I ordered “The Original Burrito,” which came with scrambled eggs, potatoes, Tillamook cheddar cheese, Black Forest Ham and salsa. You can switch out the ham for Applewood bacon or sausage, or, for $1 extra, you can have linguisa (Portuguese sausage), chicken basil sausage, turkey or andouille sausage. I also ordered water and a cup of coffee. My bill was about $11.

The Taste

I don’t know what Tillamook cheddar cheese is, but I do know it’s delicious. I liked everything about this burrito. The ham was tender, the potatoes were nicely roasted and seasoned, the eggs were fluffy, and the salsa tasted fresh. I also like the fact that the burrito wasn’t greasy, like some breakfast burritos can be.

The Ambiance

Denica’s Real Food Kitchen was bustling and had a steady crowd of brunch eaters. However, the service was friendly and fast, and my friend and I only had to wait about 10 minutes for our meal. It was a nice, clean eatery where you order at the counter, and the staff brings the food to you.

Other Details

Denica’s Real Food Kitchen has an impressive menu that includes a good number of vegetarian and gluten-free entrees. The Walnut Creek location is at 2280 Oak Grove Road, inside Citrus Marketplace off Ygnacio Valley Road. Denica’s also is located at 6058 Dougherty Road in Dublin and 2259 Las Positas Road in Livermore. The Walnut Creek location is open 7 a.m. to 3 p.m., seven days a week. For more information, call (925) 945-6200 or visit denicascafe.com.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 22, 2014 in breakfast, brunch

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
