RSS

Sushi rookies will enjoy getting out of their comfort zones at Santa Clara’s Yuki Sushi

31 Jan
The sushi lunch special at Yuki Sushi in Santa Clara.

The sushi lunch special at Yuki Sushi in Santa Clara.

I admit that I am a sushi novice. I typically play it safe and order a California Roll (imitation crab, avocado, and cucumber) or a shrimp tempura roll, which is pretty much fried shrimp wrapped in rice.

So I told myself I was going to try something different when I arrived to Yuki Sushi in Santa Clara, which was voted one of the reader’s choice winners for Silicon Valley’s best sushi by Metro magazine.

Dish of Choice

I decided to go with the sushi lunch special because it had a variety of sushi on one platter: one piece of maguro (tuna), hamachi (yellowtail), and ebi (shrimp), which each came on a bed of seasoned rice. The special also included six of the familiar California rolls and six rolls of tekka maki, which was tuna wrapped in rice and seaweed.

The special came with a salad and bowl of miso soup, which is typically made from a paste of soybeans, a starch such as rice or barley, water and yeast. Along with an iced tea, my bill came out to about $14.

The Taste

Friday was the first time that I tried the nigiri form of sushi, and I enjoyed it. The tuna and yellowtail both tasted fresh and tender. There was a small spreading of wasabi in between the fish and the rice. I typically stay away from wasabi because I always feel like my scalp is on fire every time I eat it. However, the sushi chefs used just enough to wake you up and add some spice to the dish. I love shrimp, so I definitely was not disappointed with the ebi nigiri. The California and tekka maki rolls were also fresh and added a nice variety to the dish.

The miso soup and side salad are part of the lunch sushi special at Yuki Sushi in Santa Clara.

The miso soup and side salad are part of the lunch sushi special at Yuki Sushi in Santa Clara.

The miso soup was probably my least favorite part of the meal, but that is not the fault of the restaurant. I have had the soup at other Japanese restaurants, and I’m just not a fan of the barley, yeasty taste.

I enjoyed the dressing on the salad because it was not too heavy or sweet. All in all, it was a great lunch special at a good price.

The Ambiance

Yuki Sushi is a small but quaint restaurant. Along with regular table-chair seating, diners can also sit at low tables on cushions with their shoes off for a more traditional Japanese seating arrangement. Guests can also sit at the sushi bar and watch the chefs create their favorite sushi dishes.

Since the restaurant only seats about 40 people, the place fills up fast. I would suggest coming right as the restaurant opens or waiting until about 1 p.m. to avoid the lunch rush.

Other Details

Yuki Sushi is located at 1827 Pruneridge Ave. in Santa Clara. It has a second location at 1140 Lincoln Ave., #8, in San Jose’s Willow Glen area. Lunch hours for the Santa Clara location are 11:30 a.m to 2 p.m. Tuesday through Friday, and dinner runs from 5 to 9:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday and 5 to 9 p.m. Sunday. For more information, call (408) 248-9144 or visit yukisushi.com.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2015 in seafood, sushi

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
