RSS

More prime rib! Adamson’s French Dip in Sunnyvale is generous with the meat

11 Feb
The Prime Rib French Dip sandwich with Au Jus and Onion Rings at Adamson's French Dip in Sunnyvale.

The Prime Rib French Dip sandwich with Au Jus and Onion Rings at Adamson’s French Dip in Sunnyvale.

The reputation at Adamson’s French Dip precedes itself. I have read good things about the Sunnyvale restaurant, which is known for serving slow-roasted beef cooked in a wood-fired oven. The place has a rating of four out of five stars with more than 800 reviews on Yelp.com, so people are obviously talking.

However, I heard it’s hard to get in there during lunch rush hour. After seeing the size of the place, I can see why. It’s small. But what the restaurant lacks in size, it makes up for in the quality of the food.

Dish of Choice

I ordered the Prime Rib French Dip sandwich, which comes with thinly sliced, wood-oven roasted prime rib on a sweet French roll with a side of Au Jus. I added cheese and grilled onions to my sandwich. I also ordered a fountain drink and a side of onion rings, which are made with sweet Vidalia onions and dipped in beer batter. My meal cost about $16, including tax.

The Taste

You can tell the restaurant takes time roasting its prime rib because the meat was juicy, tender and was not lacking in portions. I hate when you order a sandwich and there is more bread than meat. That was not the issue at Adamson’s. The bread was soft and was lightly toasted to give the sandwich a subtle crunch. The onions for the onion rings were cut thick, and the batter was crispy without being greasy.

I wanted to finish my sandwich, but I would have had to be rolled out in a wheelbarrow if I did. So I opted to take half of my sandwich and some onion rings home.

The Ambiance

Like I mentioned before, Adamson’s is a small restaurant, seating about 30 people in total with indoor and outdoor patio seating. However, I like the look of the place. You can see the wood-fired oven and the employees slicing the meat and preparing the sandwiches from the brick order counter. I also like the vintage gas station and Coca-Cola signs on the walls and the traffic light on the side.

Other Details

Adamson’s French Dip is located at 806 W. El Camino Real in Sunnyvale. Hours are 11 a.m. until the food runs out Monday through Saturday. To order online or for more information, call (408) 830-9024 or visit www.adamsonsfrenchdip.com.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 11, 2015 in French, sandwiches

 

Tags: ,

One response to “More prime rib! Adamson’s French Dip in Sunnyvale is generous with the meat

  1. Regina Jackson

    February 11, 2015 at 10:42 am

    I’ve passed by Adamson’s several times over the years. Because it was always crowded. I figured it must be good. And I’ll stop one day. My daughter suggest we stop by yesterday, 2/9/15. Mmmm I’m sure glad we did! I ordered the Prime Rib French Dip sandwich with onion rings. OMG, I’m thinking about the next time I’m going to stop by. It’s a bit pricey but worth it.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
