RSS

Flamin’ Rocket burger brings some heat at Hayward’s Red Rocket Char Grill

16 Apr
The Flamin' Rocket burger at Red Rocket Char Grill in Hayward.

The Flamin’ Rocket burger at Red Rocket Char Grill in Hayward.

If grilled food is your passion, you might be a fan of what Hayward’s Red Rocket Char Grill has to offer.

The new restaurant, which held its grand opening in July, is focused on its love of grilled food. “The highest quality beef, pork, chicken and sausage cooked the way we love, for people we love,” according to its Facebook page.

Red Rocket has the feel of an old-school diner with a modern twist and has a good variety of burgers and sandwiches to choose from.

The Dish of Choice

I ordered the Flamin’ Rocket burger, which is dressed with jalapenos, avocado and pepper jack cheese and is accompanied with all the fixings like tomatoes, lettuce and onions. All burgers are cooked medium well, unless otherwise specified.

I also ordered a side of fries and a small fountain drink. With tax, my bill came out to about $14.

The Flamin' Rocket burger at Red Rocket Char Grill in Hayward.

The Flamin’ Rocket burger at Red Rocket Char Grill in Hayward.

The Taste

I had to press down on the burger a bit to be able to fit it into my mouth. The burger had a generous amount of sliced avocado on top, and the cheese was melted just right, covering all sides of the burger. The jalapenos obviously added spice to the meal, but I think someone who prefers mild foods could handle it.

Although I prefer my beef cooked medium rare — I think it’s more juicy and flavorful this way — the burger did not lose its succulence. It had a nice char-grilled flavor, like a burger you would eat at an outdoor BBQ. Beware: you might get some condiment drippings on your shirt, like I did (I’m a messy eater, admittedly).

Red Rocket served a large portion of fries, which were fresh and cut close to steak-fry size. They easily could have been split with another person. I restrained myself to only eating half my meal and saving the other half for later.

Other Details

I had good customer service at Red Rocket. The staff was very attentive and made sure to come by my table and ask about my meal.

The diner has a modern feel, from the metallic-tiled backsplash on the walls and counter to the large flat-screen televisions that show a digital version of the menu and live programming.

Along with burgers, the restaurant also offers chicken, fish, steak and sausage sandwiches, as well as salads. It also serves up milkshakes, desserts, beer and wine.

Red Rocket is located at 1057 B St. in downtown Hayward. For hours and more information, visit www.redrocketchargrill.comwww.facebook.com/redrocketchargrill or call (510) 885-8999.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 16, 2015 in burgers, sandwiches

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Flamin’ Rocket burger brings some heat at Hayward’s Red Rocket Char Grill

  1. Regina Da'Queen Jackson

    April 16, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    Hahahahaha! Could I hang with this yummy looking burger? Because it sure looks good! OMG, the avocado is to die for! Ooooo I might have to order a different cheese for this. Ummm you know I’m weak when it comes to the spices.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
