RSS

Chicken and waffles taken to the next level at Santa Clara’s Butter and Zeus

19 May
The Chicken Fried Waffle at Butter and Zeus in Santa Clara.

The Chicken Fried Waffle at Butter and Zeus in Santa Clara.

Chicken and waffles is a dish that has been around for a long time, but it seems like it has become the new trendy brunch item in the last few years. Just about every brunch spot you go to has this delicious, savory/sweet entree on the menu.

Despite this, I was excited to try Butter and Zeus in Santa Clara. The eatery specializes in waffle sandwiches with unique combinations of ingredients, such as brie and prosciutto, pulled pork and cilantro-lime dressing, and smoked salmon and dill sauce.

The Dish of Choice

I chose the Chicken Fried Waffle, which takes a buttermilk-battered and seasoned chicken breast or thigh – your choice – and puts it on top of the restaurant’s Churro Churro Waffle. The Churro Churro Waffle is deep-fried and covered in cinnamon sugar. The sandwich came with a small cup of coleslaw. My order came out to about $8.

The Taste

Prepare to get sweet, cinnamony goodness all over your hands, especially if you are a messy eater like me (I rarely walk away from a meal without getting crumbs down my shirt). The waffle tastes just like a churro – fresh and hot with a nice crunch.

The chicken breast was thick, tender and succulent. I wish the buttermilk breading was a little more seasoned, but it was probably better for my sodium intake. I like that the breading didn’t take over the meat and wasn’t too thick.

I restrained myself, only eating half of the sandwich and boxing the rest for the next day. I think in general, waffles do not taste that great when reheated, so I suggest eating the whole thing in one sitting or sharing it with a friend.

Other Details

The owners of Butter and Zeus named the restaurant after their beloved cat and dog, according to the restaurant’s website. To them, everything tastes better inside of a waffle. I kind of have to agree. I rarely come across anyone who doesn’t enjoy a good waffle every once in a while.

Butter and Zeus is located at 2213 Tasman Drive in Santa Clara, inside a strip mall less than a half-mile away from Levi’s Stadium. Hours are 10:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. For more information, call (408) 727-1800 or visit www.butterandzeus.com.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Chicken and waffles taken to the next level at Santa Clara’s Butter and Zeus

  1. MJ

    May 19, 2015 at 5:18 pm

    I have to try this! Looks and sound delicious.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
