RSS

Shrimp enchiladas smothered in creamy enjococado sauce a delight at Mountain View’s Agave Mexican Bistro

02 Jun
Enchiladas de Camaron with enjococado sauce at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

Enchiladas de Camaron with enjococado sauce at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

In my humble opinion, Mountain View has one of the best downtown districts in the Silicon Valley area when it comes to dining.

Visitors who stroll down Castro Street have more than 50 eateries to choose from to satisfy their appetite, with cuisine ranging from Indian to French, to Italian to Korean, and so much more.

Close-up of the enjococado sauce over the Enchiladas de Camaron at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

Close-up of the enjococado sauce over the Enchiladas de Camaron at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

My dad wanted to take me and my stepmom out to dinner, and our Saturday night excursion led us to Agave Mexican Bistro. Alexandro Garcia, a Mexico native who brings his family’s favorite recipes to his cooking, owns the restaurant and three others in the Bay Area with Susan Garcia, according to the restaurant’s website. Agave is known for combining traditional Mexican flavors with a health-conscious “California-style of cooking,” according to its website.

Dish of Choice

I love when I can combine two of my favorite foods – seafood and Mexican – in one dish. I chose the Enchiladas de Camaron, tortillas filled with bay shrimp and cheese, and smothered in your choice of enjococado (a yogurt- or sour cream-based sauce), green or red sauce. I chose the enjococado sauce, and the meal came with black beans and rice. With a hibiscus mojito, my portion of the meal came out to $26.

The Calamari at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

The Calamari at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

With my parents, I split the fried calamari, which came with a side of chipotle aioli. The appetizer cost $10.

The Taste

I’m happy that I went with the enjococado sauce (I had to Google it before I ordered). The sauce was creamy and savory, and there was a generous amount of cheese and shrimp in each bite. The enchiladas were tender, and they didn’t taste like they were made with regular flour tortillas. They taste like a hybrid of a noodle and moist cornmeal in texture. They were delicious. The chopped nuts on top added a toasty flavor and interesting texture to the dish.

The Hibiscus Mojito at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

The Hibiscus Mojito at Agave Mexican Bistro in Mountain View.

The hibiscus mojito was refreshing and light, not too strong or overloaded with sugar. I also enjoyed the mint and citrus flavors. This will be my go-to drink on my next visit.

The calamari was solid, but it didn’t wow me. The meat was lightly breaded, but I wish there was a bit more seasoning. The aioli was mild in flavor and light in texture. I was hoping for more heat.

Other Details

We received great service at Agave, which has a modern yet laid-back, homey feel. Our waitress was very nice and courteous, and she came back frequently to make sure we had everything we needed. It’s always a good feeling when you get great service and a great meal. Unfortunately, those things don’t always go together, but Agave covered both fronts.

Agave Mexican Bistro is located at 194 Castro Street in Mountain View. For hours and more information, call (650) 969-6767, or visit agaveca.com or www.facebook.com/AgaveCA.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2015 in Cal-Mex, Mexican, seafood

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Shrimp enchiladas smothered in creamy enjococado sauce a delight at Mountain View’s Agave Mexican Bistro

  1. Charlotte Skinner

    June 8, 2015 at 3:27 pm

    Been there. It is even better than this report. The food is great and the people are friendly and helpful. A must visit whenever I am in the area.

    Like

     
    • tarryljackson

      June 8, 2015 at 3:33 pm

      I definitely will be making another trip there soon myself :-). What is your favorite item there?

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
