RSS

Taco Tuesday: Deliciously messy food-truck tacos topped with asada steak, cheese and sour cream

15 Dec
ElTacoDeOro

The Super Tacos at El Taco de Oro food truck in Sunnyvale.

A fire in October shut down my favorite taco stop, Mercado La Torre in Sunnyvale, and I’ve been sad ever since. I had my first taste of the restaurant’s delicious street tacos when I first came to visit California in the early 90s. I hope the owners are able to reopen, but in the meantime, I’m on the search for the next best taco.

My search brought me to a food truck that I see all the time in front of my neighborhood Safeway on 789 E. El Camino Real in Sunnyvale: El Taco de Oro. Based in Alviso, the business offers tacos (of course), as well as burritos, tortas, quesadillas and much more.

Dish of Choice

I decided to go with two Super Tacos, which came on two corn tortillas each, onions, cilantro, cheese and sour cream. I chose asada (steak), but customers can also choose pastor (pork), cabeza (beef head or cheek), or pollo asado (grilled chicken). My meal came out to less than $4, including tax.

The Taste

Getting only two tacos was a tease. The asada was tender and had a great savory marinade. It was very juicy, so be prepared to get juices down your chin. Despite this, the soft corn tortilla was sturdy and didn’t fall apart.

The taco had a nice dressing of cilantro throughout and an good amount of sour cream. The generous portion of cheese tasted fresh and mild. I was afraid to eat the slices of pepper on the side because they smelled super spicy. The zest of lime gave the taco an extra zip in flavor.

I enjoyed the tacos so much that I went back two days later.

More Details

For more information about El Taco de Oro, including the full menu and hours, visit the business’ Facebook page.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 15, 2015 in Mexican, tacos

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
